Sunday, May 29, 2011

Out of luck, in white?

Wembley, May 29th, 2011. UEFA Champions League Final.

Final score: Barcelona 3 - Manchester United 1. I wished for the result to have been the other way around.

Learning items for United:
  • 4-4-2 didn't seem to work against Barca. Their midfield domination was exceptional. Might have worked better with a 4-5-1?
  • I said this on twitter and am gonna say this again. Evra was not left enough, and Carrick was not breaker enough. Wonder why Evra has to bother ran around to cover the central defense, and left his territory unguarded? I thought Carrick was supposed to be a defensive midfielder, can't remember if he did any tackle tho. It's clear, United needs a bloody breaker, Keano-alike-midfielder, for next season. Otherwise, we're done.
  • Chicharito was too small for such a huge match. He's got a great season at the Premier League yes, but starter at final? We could all tell he was dead nervous there. Rooney needs a bigger partner for next season's glory.
  • The one and only rule to win a match in football is to control ball possession. Once you've lost it for most of the game, you'll lose. 61% (Barca) to 39% (United), doesn't seem like a balanced match, at all.
  • It's about time to get new young players, give them chance to play along with the seniors. We gotta rebuild first and second teams with equal quality just like we had in 1999. I'm excited to welcome back Tom Cleverley and Danny Wellbeck for the new season. Wellbeck did really well at Sunderland this season. Also, more matches for Da Silva bros, Smalling, Gibson, and perhaps some promoted lads from reserves team.
Hope to see them in Munich next year. Better, Stronger, United.

No comments:

Post a Comment